Hand hits intense and breaks stonewall. Creating Compelling Conflict

Creating Compelling Conflict

$55.00

This course will help you identify types of conflict and how to use conflict to take your story from meh to awe.

+

Team Taught by Jody Wallace and Maggie Lynch   

Conflict is crucial to any story. It is what drives the story from beginning to end. From a personal change or enlightenment all the way to life or death and saving the world, conflict is used to structure your plot, reveal a deeper meaning in a character journey, and define story themes. This course will help you identify types of conflict and how to use conflict to take your story from meh to awe.

This course includes how to:

  • Define conflict and its purpose
    • Plot-based and exterior conflict – World
    • Relationship-based and romantic conflict – Heart
    • Psyche-based and internal conflict, aka the character arc – Soul
  • Identify your story’s conflict options
    • Characters with opposing values or goals
    • Character GMC in general and character arcs in a romance
    • Powerful antagonists (nature, society, human)
    • Subplots and smaller conflicts to build a longer arc
  • Sustain conflict throughout the story
    • Raising the stakes
    • Primary and secondary sources of tension
    • Managing the ebb and flow of tension

Our Course and Teaching Philosophy

Our Course Discounts for Groups of 4 to 7 participants signing up at the same time.


2022 Open Sections

Tuesdays, January 11 – February 1, 9:30am PT, 12:30pm ET, 5:30pm GMT – Only 3 Slots Left!

Duration: 4 Weeks, meets every Tuesday at the same time for 90 minutes on Zoom.